© 2020 West Trade Review
Reviews



__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________
© 2020 West Trade Review

© 2022 West Trade Review
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________
Stay Connected to Our Literary Community.  Subscribe to Our Newsletter
Home    About    Subscribe    Guidelines   Submit   Exclusives   West End    
                                                   Search Our Site
"The elements that keep readers engaged, revolve around mothering. On the one hand, mothering is love and caring. On the other, it is dark, mysterious, terrifying, and deadly."
by Kelly Harrison
August 22, 2022
"The Things We Don’t Talk About is ultimately a reminder that everyone struggles with communication from time to time, and no family is without complications. By presenting characters that struggle so acutely with sharing their thoughts with one another, Feltman reminds readers that no matter how painful or difficult some things are to discuss, they must be tackled, and that cannot be done."
by Mary Sutton
August 24, 2022
""The Ghetto Within is an introspective novel, as contemplative and, at times, as quiet as its main character. This work succeeds at taking readers on an internal journey into Vincente’s own personal ghetto: enclosed by four walls, inhabited by silence and guilt, impenetrable by any who know and love him." 
by Elisabeth Aiken
August 23, 2022
FICTION REVIEW
POETRY REVIEW
FICTION REVIEW
"Emi Yagi’s debut novel Diary of a Void confronts the issue of sexism and its ramifications, manifested by a narrative journey of personal growth. Under the overarching theme of birth and formation, Yagi successfully reveals the ways in which misogyny affects everything in a woman’s life, from crucial events to the quotidian."
FICTION REVIEW
""​Forty-four years in its process, Migrations is at once poetry, myth, and epic. The lifework of Mexican poet Gloria Gervitz, who is of Ukrainian Jewish heritage, Migrations asks questions, makes allusions, and calls out into the void. Erotic, spiritual, and conversational all at once, Gervitz manages to seek out the core of what are our most essential quandaries."
by Tara Friedman
August 2, 2022
NONFICTION REVIEW
"If literature is a self-reflexive art form, then O does present a way for the text to be the body and body as text, which opens the mind to how poetry can act upon and influence the potential of context and meaning. Niki Tulk’s O gives us the power and control to reinvent our past traumas by performing them within a framework of our own control, wherein it’s possible to make beauty in the fires of language."

by Mikal Wix
July 26, 2022
POETRY REVIEW
"When Sánchez did not see her own life reflected in the pages of any books, she created her own so that her audience could finally see themselves reflected in a tale that is truly one of victory and resilience."
by Shana Scudder
July 12, 2022
NONFICTION REVIEW
"Even in the intangible moments, there is a resonant loneliness in Meng Jin's Self-Portrait With Ghost that creates a unique intimacy with the reader as we look in on the solitary spaces of the characters’ lives."
by Corrine Watson
July 5, 2022
FICTION REVIEW
"Stories of soldiers embed readers alongside snipers while those of vets situate us within an unstable civilian life, haunted by shadows of the past. Every character here lives in a story where the undercurrent is a resigned acceptance of one’s lot in life, the good things being fantasy, always out of reach."
by Kelly Harrison
June 30, 2022
FICTION REVIEW
"This book is a light in the darkness, a pinprick in the cave blackness ahead of us, some shred of hope to hold onto late at night. A wonderful debut, and I can’t wait to see what Lynn does next."
by Joanna Acevedo
July 5, 2022
POETRY REVIEW
<PREVIOUS PAGE | NEXT PAGE >
by Samantha Fitch
August 9, 2022
<PREVIOUS PAGE | NEXT PAGE >